…To Mom on Mother’s Day

NOTE.  This is one of a series of requested letters that will be posted under “Form Letters” for those of you who would like an idea or a template for a letter of your own.  An additional letter from Mother to her Children is filed under “Form Letters” as “…on Being Your Mother”.

Dear Mother,

My love for you is a given.  We have that bond between us that we have strengthened through the years with our expressions of love…in both actions and words.

But have I ever told you that I am grateful?  For life.  For your nurturing care.  For your helping me become who I am today?

Well, I know that I haven’t thanked you enough nor properly.  And  there have been times when I didn’t appreciate you.  And you knew it.

But even then I noticed.

And I learned.

I learned to value my life and the wonderful cosmic miracle that placed me in your hands so many years ago.  My fortunate birth was not of my doing…and perhaps not of your doing either…but I love that we are together in this world. Because I can see the two of us more clearly now and marvel at the gifts you have given me:

Your intelligence.

A little bit of your silly bone, although I am still working on that.

Your tenacity and drive.

And, hopefully, your endurance and longevity.

I got your eyes (that’s good) and I got your hips (maybe not so good).

At first glance, not everything has worked for me.  Yet even the unworkable gifts have offered me lessons by example.

I learned that being present is important.

I learned that assertiveness is better than manipulation.

I learned not to wear socks with my sandals.

Overall, you taught me many more valuable lessons than I can name.

I learned that I can be self-reliant.

I learned to love food and keep myself healthy with good food.

I learned that education is key and that life-long learning is the master key.

I learned that anything is possible.

Best of all, I learned to be a mother.

Thank you, Mom.

xxoo

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

  2. I love this letter! And I love my mom. I’m blessed with having such a good relationship with her! We live 600 km away from each other, so we don’t see each other very often, but we phone 2 or 3 times a week. We’re very similar and very diferent at the same time. She gets me very well, but it’s not always easy for her because I have my own mind, and I’m hurt so easily at certain spots. I can give her psychological advice on how to deal with certain people etc, and it makes me happy that this is something I can give back. She just wants me to be well and develop as a person, so she truly loves me. But some of my decisions make her shiver. Yet she always believes in me. I’m truly blessed with my mom. My love for her is greater than I can express.

  3. Marcie says:

    Beautiful!! I couldn’t have said it better myself. What a wonderful way to express true gratitude to the mothers we all love!

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

