You Sweet Thing!

I have been listening to Pema Chodron lately and I’m down with the Buddhist concept of being kind and gentle to oneself.  I’m not sure how that grooves with their habit of getting up at three in the a.m. to do prostrations*, but I’ve never been one to order the full meal deal.  I tend to take the bits that I want and leave the rest.

Back to kind and gentle: I like it!

This means that I can relax when, instead of doing two sudoku puzzles in the morning; I do two more at 11:00 a.m., two more at 2:00 p.m. and four more at 5:00 p.m. when I intended to be fixing dinner.  Ohhhh, dopey me!

Or when I eat TWO peanut butter sandwiches because there’s nothing as satisfying at that moment as the combination of rich butter and crunchy peanut butter; I can say to my self, “You big silly!”

I’ll smile fondly at the stack of papers on the dining room table (which are moved intermittently to the chair at the end) and extend the tax deadline one more time.

When I look in the full-length mirror I’ll pinch my chubby cheeks and whisper, “You Cutie”, instead of slapping my thighs with disgust.

It’s a great concept, isn’t it?  I may not improve as a person but I feel better about myself already.

xxoo

P. S.  I haven’t found those photos for you yet, but oh well…

*Prostration is the placement of the body in a reverentially or submissively
prone position. (Wikipedia)  The monks reputedly do many of these at appointed times.

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

