…on Reaching Toward Family Harmony

NOTE.  This is one of a series of requested letters that will be posted under “Form Letters” for those of you who would like an idea or a template for a letter of your own.

A family in harmony will prosper in everything” Chinese Proverb

…and a family at odds radiates pain in widening circles.

One person cannot be the root of all problems.  I take responsibility for my own part.  If I am in pain because of our issues, it is my issue, too, and I must learn how to best deal with it.

I can’t and don’t blame you for my snarky behavior.  If I thrash about in anger and frustration, that is who I am at that moment. If am expressing my hurt feelings in less than desirable ways, then I must see myself as I am and work toward being the person I would rather be.

I wish I knew the answers.  I wish I could fathom the depths of your grief and sorrow.  I wish I could understand the agony that causes you to prickle and lash out.

What creates your arctic coldness that freezes the love and affection as it nears you?  If I knew what to do or say or how to be, I would do my best to help you heal.

Because I love you.  You have been a part of me for too many years for me to cut you out of my life.  No matter my instant irritation, my instinctive recoil, my lingering trepidation; I will continue to reach for you.

That’s what unconditional love is about.  It is loving you through the difficult times as well as the fun times.

I’ll try again to stop protecting myself.  I’ll swallow my fear and act as loving as I feel.  I won’t allow your icy politeness to seep into my own responses. Yes, I’m going to try.

That’s the person I want to be.

xxoo

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

