…on joining our family

(NOTE:  This is one of a new series of letters posted under “Form Letters” for those of you who would like an idea or a beginning for a letter of your own.)

Dear Daughter-in-Law/Son-in-Law

We are so happy that you have joined us.

How could we help but love you since our (son/daughter) is so happy with you in his life.  We have waited and watched, wondering when he would make his choice, and then when he would ask you.

We are thrilled that he did.  We love having you as a part of our lives.

Our family probably seems strange to you.  It’s always difficult becoming a part of a new group.  Just know that although we may not say it, and although we may not always even express our feelings in the way you are used to; we welcome you with open arms.

Please don’t be afraid to approach us.  We can talk about what you want to call each of us.  We are open to what makes you feel comfortable and makes you feel a part of our family.

That’s how we see it.  We have another son/daughter.  I’m looking forward to many years of getting to know you better.

Welcome,

Optional:

We never dreamed we would have a ready-made family.  Yet I know we will come to love your children as our own dear grandchildren.  We are excited for this new chapter in our lives.

Comments

  1. You know the topic of this letter perfectly fits with my current life situation. I wish I had received a letter like that, or Peter had. At least I know my parents are really happy for me to have found Peter and wholeheartedly agree with my decision to marry him, but they can’t tell Peter as they can tell me, for whatever reason. I wish they could just open their hearts and tell him.

    Like

    • I’m happy for you that you know how they feel, even though they can’t express it in words. I hope that Peter’s family feels the same about you. Being supported as a young married couple is so valuable. Well, I know that you are both held up by all of your friends…on the ground and virtual:)

      Like

  2. I refuse to call my daughter in law as my ex daughter in law. In the Vedic rite by which she got married to my son, I received her as my daughter and that is that. She continues to call me dad, spoils me silly as I do whenever I can and she is a joy to behold whenever I meet her or talk to her on the phone. It is a good thing that the parting of ways for her and my son was amicable but even otherwise, I do not think that my relationship or for that matter my late wife’s relationship with her would have changed from what it was when she was married to my son. If there is one disappointment that I have in my life, it is that their marriage did not last a life time.

    Like

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

