mean-ing

Gabrielle Brooke Gujjari has written a great post on her blog, shift to happy. It deserves a place in my “Grammy Rant” category…but I don’t think she’s quite old enough to qualify!

shift to happy

Mobbing

I wonder if cancer survivors everywhere, like me, cringed when Lucy Danziger, the editor-in-chief of Self Magazine, issued an apology last week.

I’m sure you’ve heard about what Self did, but if you haven’t, the story is this: A woman named Monika Allen, who was undergoing chemotherapy, ran a marathon in a tutu. (The tutus were part of a fundraising effort for the organization Allen co-founded.)  Self Magazine took a picture of Monika and her friend in their tutus and used it in one of their spreads as an example of a “lame” current trend.

“I am personally mortified,” Danziger told USA Today. “I had no idea that Monika had been through cancer. It was an error. It was a stupid mistake. We shouldn’t have run the item.”

{Ah yes. Of course, Ms. Danziger. We see what you mean. You created a PR disaster by making fun of the…

View original post 614 more words

Comments

  1. My reaction exactly when I first read the story. You run a story first and when it goes viral for whatever reason come out with an apology. What a great way to sell a magazine. I can puke.

    Like

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

