Arachnophobia – or not…

IMG_0498

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spiders eat pests. Spiders feed on common indoor pests, such as roaches, earwigs, mosquitoes, flies and clothes moths. If left alone, spiders will consume most of the insects in your home, providing effective home pest control. Bayer Advanced

I don’t like spiders. I have never liked them – and at times in my life my fear of them has bordered on phobic. They are so small and sneaky.

IMG_0495I prefer a Tarantula to a tiny little house spider. Give my a daddy-long-legs any day over those small scampering creatures that seem to hop from place to place with horrifying alacrity. And luckily, we don’t have too many in the house.

However, this year our yard has been overcome with webs. They seem to love our organic haven as much as we do.

IMG_0417

Our lovely garden

I know, I know – sentient beings. But, before guests arrive my husband knocks the webs out of the trees and bushes. I take the vacuum outside and brutally whisk them from the porches and the window sills. The results of either method are short-lived.

A few weeks ago as were sitting in our back yard I suddenly realized that my husband hasn’t used any of my concoction of natural mosquito repellent. Usually he is miserable on summer evenings.* The mosquitoes are strangely absent in a shaded, overgrown, fountain-filled yard. What’s up?

The spiders? I looked out over the webs decorating the trees and bushes.

“We must stop our attack”, I said. It’s time to be grateful to these pesky critters.

Deep sigh…

xxoo

*My husband is bait for all sorts of biting insects. A flea will leave a dog for him, but mosquitoes are usually the worst.

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

