Words of My Father

In promulgating your esoteric cogitations or articulating your superficial sentimentalities and amicable, philosophical or psychological observations, beware of platitudinous ponderosity.  Let  your conversational communications demonstrate a clarified conciseness, a compact comprehensibleness, no coalescent conglomerations of precious garrulity, jejune bafflement and asinine affectations.  Let your extemporaneous verbal evaporations and expatriations have lucidity, intelligibility and veracious vivacity without radomontade or Thespian bombast.  Sedulously avoid all polysyllabic profundity, pompous propensity, psittaceous vacuity, ventriloquial verbosity and vaniloquent vapidity.  Shun double-entendres, obnoxious jocosity and pestiferous profanity, observable or apparentFound handwritten in an old Bible.

My father quoted this when he ran out of things to say. That wasn’t very often because he loved to talk (preach).

I used to think he just liked the sound of his own voice. Now I must reconsider because I am that person – so anxious to give someone my vast store of exciting knowledge that everything comes back to me, me, me.

Then I received this little blurb recently:

Type Seven EnneaThought for October 4th

“High functioning Sevens become joyous and seek to share their experience of the boundless goodness of life with others. Be open to this potential in yourself today.”

Oh, man…does that give me an excuse?

I spend a lot of energy trying to curb my tongue and listen. I need no encouragement to share thoughts and ideas. When a subject comes up that interests me I bounce in (sometimes without regard to etiquette) excitedly, happy to include myself in the discussion.

My kids have let me know that listening does not necessarily include sharing common experiences and feelings. Sometimes it’s best to just nod and indicate interest.

That’s a hard one for me but I’m working on it. I am aware of my flaw – just not always at the pertinent time.

xxoo

 

Comments

  1. While I do like to hear my own voice, I prefer to sit quietly and listen and offer my two bits only when asked. I laugh readily and most of the people who regularly converse with me tell me that love to hear me laugh and that is enough communication to keep the relationships strong. I guess that I just got tired of hearing my own voice during my pre-retirement life.

    I have not found out my Enneagram Type. I would rather not. What do you think?

    Like

    • I admire you for that. I’m a little too intense and literal to laugh easily…but aspire to such grace. As to the Enneagram Type: the reason I find it valuable is to recognize when I am operating within personality instead of being real. It’s a way of getting over myself. I find it to be just another path leading through the maze to authenticity and essence. And knowing another’s type reminds me that it isn’t personal – they are operating within their own world view. That particular tolerance is fairly easy for me in my old age.

      Truly, Ramana, you are probably past all this. We are all just fine as we are. I just find the journey fascinating.

      Liked by 1 person

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

