4th of July

I woke up feeling a little gritchy* about this holiday. Maybe I can’t put it into words, but for me it seems to be another celebration that is best just thought of as a day to get together and maybe watch a fireworks display. It’s difficult to really remember what I believed about Independence Day when I was a young girl waiting impatiently for nightfall when I would light my sparklers.

Freedom of religion????

Liberty and justice for all???

Then, I truly enjoyed parades. I still love the courage of people who joyously entertain the spectators. I admire those who take a stand (and since I live in a very liberal area, I can normally espouse the cause).  On the other hand, it is really hot here and our local parade has become so popular that it is difficult to find a space from which to see it.

Okay, so the trade off is – my husband (who loves the crowds and excitement) is going to the parade with my friend and I am preparing the potato salad and ribs. I’m home where it’s cool with  a beautiful batch of ripe Bing cherries, a bowl of fresh blueberries, and time to wander through my garden. I’ll celebrate the time with friends and enjoy my blessings.

I wish you all such a wonderful day.

xxoo

* Unfortunately, this is a “no-complaining” day and so I must keep this factual rather than whining in tone.  (I’m working on a daily practice which I hope will become a life practice:   https://www.annmariegianni.com/30-days-of-joy/.)

Comments

  1. We used to celebrate the 4th of July as well in my family, it being the wedding anniversary of our parents. My son was born on the 3rd of July and my parents always claimed that it was the best anniversary gift that they ever received.

    Happy independence day to you.

    Like

  2. Enjoying my day with a bowl of bing cherries myself, and a few good reads such as yours!

    Like

  3. Mitch Mitchell says:

    I also don’t celebrate on July 4th; then again, it wasn’t independence day for folks like me. It was a regular day since there are no such things as “normal” days around here lately. lol I hope you had a wonderful time.

    Like

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

