A Life of Blackberry Memories

Smelling that distinctive moist sweet smell when the berries are ripe.

My sister and I throwing boards up onto huge canyons of blackberries, stepping off onto solid vines to wrestle the boards to the next spot; the biggest sweetest blackberries are always way up high and way back there.

Stomping and singing “When the Roll is Called Up Yonder” to scare away any lurking rattlesnakes who may be losing their skin and not see me coming.

Selling blackberries for ten cents a quart to the neighborhood store and spending the money on treats.

Scratches stinging when my legs hit the bathwater.

You kids and I picking blackberries with Bob up by the river and freaking out when you saw a crawdad.

Making upside down cobbler to Maryann’s old recipe.*

Floating along on inner tubes, moving into an eddy and clinging to huge vines to reach the huge berries along the river.

Eating berries along the bike path when a yellow jacket stung my forehead; instinctively pressing a berry to the sting for an instant cure.

Wanting berries enough to brave the hot August sun.

Taking a walk with my husband and destroying the purposeful pace to eat the last blackberries of the summer.

Taking a bite of cobbler every time I walk through the kitchen.

Sadly walking along the vines knowing that the berries are either dried up and spent or bright red, reaching for the sun that is no long hot enough to ripen them before the cool nights of fall arrive.

I love blackberries.

xxoo

*Upside down cobbler

1 c sifted flour

1/8 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

¼ c butter

½ c milk

1 c sugar  ½ in batter and ½ on top

2 ½ c fresh or frozen cherries or berries  (retain any juice)

Mix and sift flour, baking powder and salt.  Cream butter until soft, gradually add ½ c sugar. Add dry ingredients to butter/sugar alternately with milk.

Pour into greased casserole.  Put drained fruit over batter and sprinking remaining ½ c sugar over.  Pour 1 c juice over all (or water if you don’t have juice.)

Bake at 375 for 45 minutes.  (Keep an eye on it).

I have always doubled this recipe.

Comments

  1. I remember going to the Elks picnic grounds that were along the river; think the Elk; not sure; and we picked the absolutely largest biggest berries I had even seen!
    And then a HUGE timber owl that had to have had a wing span of 3 feet on each side, it was brown in color, went over us and I think we got spooked shortly after that and left!

    Like

    • Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

      Oooh. And I just remembered when the dog started barking and jumping back and forth on the path from me to my baby daughter. She (daughter) was standing there frozen. A snake lay across the path between us and I couldn’t see its head or tail. We all froze nuts and bolts until the dog scared the snake away. Yikes! Were you there?

      Like

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...

