Please think…A Letter About Suicide

NOTE:  I am re-posting this due to inquiries regarding a suicide letter to leave for children.*

Dear Suffering Person:

If you are committing suicide it is humane to leave a letter to your children, but the letter will not alleviate their pain.  It may provide your family with more insight into your own pain and still  it will show them that you are not willing to stay and help them through their own.

When you search my site for a template of how to tell your loved ones you are leaving, you won’t find it here.*  What you will find are tracks of grief caused by suicide.  If you re-search my site and re-read my post of May 5 of 2013, you will see only pain and heartache.  Read it again and  comprehend that you are setting a precedent in your family and creating an acceptable way for your children to follow in your footsteps. In any bonded group, if one person commits suicide it makes it easier for another to do the same.

I can’t know your life.  I don’t feel your feelings.  But I have seen the aftermath.  As a child I couldn’t comprehend the leave-taking of my friend’s brother.  As teenager I lived through the questions and chaos created by the suicide of a school mate.  My friend’s son, her brother, her nephew…my daughter’s schoolmate…my associate’s child…it is a bottomless pit of horror.  In just the last 6 months I am surrounded by the incomprehension and exquisite agony that is the heritage of the loved ones left behind by another suicide.

I have tried to provide you with resources on the menu. I don’t know how  to help you.  I can’t tell you what is right for you.  I pray for you in your despair.

And I ask you to think lovingly and mindfully of yourself and those in your caring circle.  Look in the main post of this category for help lines and websites.

xxoo

* My statistics provide me with a record of the search that leads readers to my blog.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for your post. Powerful! Every life affects so many others – far beyond what any of us can imagine. I recently shared a video clip in a post that compliments your thoughts and is very powerful about the aftermath of suicide. https://withallmylovemom.wordpress.com. I wish everyone would watch it. Every person has so much to add to this world!

    Like

Agree? Disagree? Have your say...